Building a Children’s Library

I have always had a fondness for reading. Stories that transport me to other worlds and have me experience things I normally wouldn’t in my own day to day life. It began when my mother would read Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs and Peter Pan to my little sister and I at bedtime. I looked forward to those evenings meeting Wendy or going to the Diamond Mine with Grumpy. In high school and later years, I fell in love with Jane Austen and Charlotte Bronte, thanks to a wonderful English teacher.I wanted that love of reading to catch on with my children too. When they were babies, I started our daily storybook sessions and would collect books for their nursery. Dr. Seuss was a nightly favorite. I must have read The Foot Book a million times! Now at 16, 13, 10 and almost 4 my kids LOVE to read (maybe not so much the oldest!) A library card will save your pocketbook and open a new world of learning for them but nothing beats a personal library at home. While sightseeing thru Barnes and Noble(yes, I love to just roam the isles and search for treasures) I came across this beautiful collection: Barnes and Noble Leatherbound Classics. So gorgeously printed and stunning covers. What a joy! By far my favorite is Lewis Carroll‘s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Other Stories.

My sons will love Dracula and The Complete Sherlock Holmes. Also, no library is complete without a copy of Pride and Prejudice! Start sharing these wonderful adventures with your children and watch their love of reading grow. It warms my heart whenever my kids ask for a book rather than the latest video game! Pick one up then set up your own storybook time at home! Enjoy and Happy Reading!!

Leave a Reply

