Family Movie Review: Maleficent

image

Yesterday we had the chance to see Maleficent and let me say it was worth the wait! Since they put the trailer in theaters last year, I’ve been counting down the months to its release date. Of all the Disney Villains, she was my favorite since childhood.
I grew up loving her long, wispy gown, articulate voice and most notably her beautiful green skin.

image

Disney’s Sleeping Beauty was enchanting for me because of the magic and lovely characters. I knew even then that Maleficent wasn’t all bad, she was just hurt because she wasn’t invited to the christening. How rude of the King! I loved watching her turn herself into a fierce dragon even though it meant her doom. Because as you know, in all fairy tales, the light always casts out the darkness in the end.
So, with that love of the old animated film, I was curious and excited to see what Disney would do with my beloved mistress.  To hear her side of the story be told and to look upon the old fable in a whole new light.
I don’t wish to give away any details because you have to see it for yourself so you can experience the same surprise and feel the emotions without expecting it. This adaptation was spectacular!  The visual effects,  the storyline and the actors all did a fantastic job. Angelina Jolie was perfect in the role and bringing my glorious Maleficent to life. She had the laugh, the warmth, the naughtiness and the mothering emotions spot on.

image

This movie will now go into my mental library as a top favorite of all time.
Even my husband and teenage son enjoyed it!
So as I’ve been telling my friends you need to take your kids, your neighbor’s kids, the Girl Scout troop, grandma and grandpa, and go experience this movie!
Once you do, come back and tell me how you liked it!
Cheers!

Leave a Reply

